Uganda, officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. Uganda is bordered on the east by Kenya, on the north by South Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania.

Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country including the capital Kampala.

Uganda Country Information

Capital and largest city Kampala
Official languages

English (35th)
– 2002 census 24,227,297
– Density 137.1/km2 (80th)
355.2/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $46.368 billion
– Per capita $1,317
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $16.810 billion
– Per capita $477
Gini (1998) 43 (medium)
HDI (2011) Increase 0.446 (low / 161st)
Currency Ugandan shilling (UGX)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on the left
Calling code +256a
ISO 3166 code UG
Internet TLD .ug