São Tomé and Príncipe, officially the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe, is a Portuguese-speaking island nation in the Gulf of Guinea, off the western equatorial coast of Central Africa. It consists of two archipelagos around the two main islands: São Tomé and Príncipe, located about 140 kilometres (87 mi) apart and about 250 and 225 kilometres (155 and 140 mi), respectively, off the northwestern coast of Gabon. Both islands are part of an extinct volcanic mountain range. São Tomé, the sizable southern island, is situated just north of the equator. It was named in honour of Saint Thomas by Portuguese explorers who arrived at the island on his feast day.

Sao Tome and Principe Flag

São Tomé and Príncipe Country Information

Capital and largest city São Tomé
0°20′N 6°44′E
Official languages Portuguese
Recognised regional languages



São Toméan (Sao Tomean) (188th)
– Density 169.1/km2 (69th)
438.2/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $379 million
– Per capita $2,251
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $248 million
– Per capita $1,473
HDI (2011) Increase 0.509 (low / 144th)
Currency Dobra (STD)
Time zone UTC (UTC+0)
Drives on the right
Calling code +239
ISO 3166 code ST
Internet TLD .st