Morocco, officially the Kingdom of Morocco. “The Western Kingdom”. Al-Maghrib, or Maghreb, meaning “The West”, is commonly used. The Kingdom of Morocco is the most westerly of the North African countries. It has Atlantic and Mediterranean coastlines, and a rugged mountain interior.

Morocco administers most of the disputed region of the Western Sahara as the Southern Provinces. The status of Western Sahara remains unresolved. Morocco annexed the territory in 1975 and a guerrilla war with pro-independence forces ended in 1991. UN efforts have failed to break the political deadlock.

Morocco Country Information
Capital Rabat
34°02′N 6°51′W
Largest city Casablanca
Official languages


Berber dialects or 710,850 km2 (58th or 40th)
172,487 sq mi
– Water (%) 0.056 (250 km2)
– 2012 estimate 32,644,370 (38th)
– 2004 census 29,680,069 (medium)
HDI (2011) Increase 0.582 (medium / 130th)
Currency Moroccan dirham (MAD)
Time zone WET (UTC+0)
– Summer (DST) WEST (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code +212
ISO 3166 code MA
Internet TLD .ma