Mauritius, officially the Republic of Mauritius (Mauritian Creole: Republik Moris; French: République de Maurice) is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) off the south east coast of the African continent. The country includes Mauritius, a mountainous sub-tropical island, the island of Rodrigues, 560 kilometres (350 mi) east of the principal island, the islands of Agaléga and the Saint Brandon Rocks. The islands of the Republic of Mauritius form part of the Mascarene Islands, which also include the neighbouring island of Réunion. The area of the country is 2040 km2, its capital is Port Louis.

Mauritius Country Information

Capital and largest city Port Louis
20°10′S 57°31′E
Official languages Nonea
Vernacular languages

Mauritian Creole

Demonym Mauritian
Government Parliamentary republic
– President Kailash Purryag
– Prime Minister Navin Ramgoolam
Legislature National Assembly
– from the United Kingdom 12 March 1968
– Republic 12 March 1992
– Total 2,040 km2 (179th)
787 sq mi
– Water (%) 0.07
– 2012 estimate 1,291,456 (151st)
– 2011 census 1,233,000 (high / 78th)
Currency Mauritian rupee (MUR)
Time zone MUT (UTC+4)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+4)
Date format dd/mm/yyyy (AD)
Drives on the left
Calling code +230
ISO 3166 code MU
Internet TLD .mu