Ethiopia, officially known as the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south. Ethiopia is the most populous landlocked country in the world and the second-most populated nation on the African continent, with over 91,000,000 inhabitants. It occupies a total area of 1,100,000 square kilometres (420,000 sq mi). Its capital and largest city is Addis Ababa.

Ethiopia is one of the oldest sites of human existence known to scientists. It may be the region from which Homo sapiens first set out for the Middle East and points beyond.

Ethiopia Country Information

and largest city Addis Ababa
9°1.8′N 38°44.4′E
Official languages Amharic
Recognised regional languages
Other languages official among Ethiopia’s various ethnicities and their respective regions
Ethnic groups (2012 (14th)
– 2007 census 73,918,505 (medium)
HDI (2010) Increase 0.363 (low / 174th)
Currency Birr (ETB)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on the right
Calling code +251
ISO 3166 code ET
Internet TLD .et