The Comoros is a sovereign archipelago island nation in the Indian Ocean, located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel off the eastern coast of Africa, between northeastern Mozambique and northwestern Madagascar. Other countries near the Comoros are Tanzania to the northwest and the Seychelles to the northeast. Its capital is Moroni, on Grande Comore.

At 1,862 km2 (719 sq mi), excluding the contested island of Mayotte, the Comoros is the third-smallest African nation by area. The population, excluding Mayotte, is estimated at 798,000. The name “Comoros” derives from the Arabic word قمر qamar (“moon”). As a nation formed at a crossroads of many civilizations, the archipelago is noted for its diverse culture and history. The Union of the Comoros has three official languages – Comorian, Arabic and French – though French is the sole official language on Mayotte.

The Comoros is the only state to be a member of all of the following: the African Union, Francophonie, Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, Arab League (of which it is the southernmost state) and the Indian Ocean Commission.

Comoros Country Information

(and largest city) Moroni
11°41′S 43°16′E
Official languages


Demonym Comoran
Government Federal republic
– President Ikililou Dhoinine
– Vice Presidents

Fouad Mohadji
Mohamed Ali Soilih
Nourdine Bourhane

Legislature Assembly of the Union
– from France 6 July 1975
– Total 2,235 km2 (178tha)
863 sq mi
– Water (%) negligible
– 2010 estimate 798,000b (163rd)
– Density 275/km2 (25th)
712.2/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2012 estimate
– Total $869 million (179th)
– Per capita $1,252 (165th)
GDP (nominal) 2012 estimate
– Total $595 million (177th)
– Per capita $858 (155th)
HDI (2011) Increase 0.433 (low) (163rd)
Currency Comorian franc (KMF)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on the right
Calling code +269
ISO 3166 code KM
Internet TLD .km