Angola, officially the Republic of Angola, is a country in Southern Africa bordered by Namibia on the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the north, and Zambia on the east; its west coast is on the Atlantic Ocean with Luanda as its capital city. The exclave province of Cabinda has borders with the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Angola is a member state of the African Union, the Community of Portuguese Language Countries, the Latin Union and the Southern African Development Community.

Angola Country Information:

Capital (and largest city) Luanda 8°50′S 13°20′E
Official languages Portuguese
Recognised national languages


Ethnic groups (2000)

36% Ovimbundu
25% Ambundu
13% Bakongo
22% other African
2% Mestiço
1% Chinese
1% European

Demonym Angolan
Government Unitary presidential republic
– President José Eduardo dos Santos
– Vice President Manuel Vicente
Legislature National Assembly
– from Portugal 11 November 1975
– Total 1,246,700 km2 (23rd)
481,354 sq mi
– Water (%) negligible
– 2009 estimate 18,498,000
– Density 14.8/km2 (199th)
38.4/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $115.679 billion (64th)
– Per capita $5,894 (107th)
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $100.948 billion (61st)
– Per capita $5,144 (91st)
Gini (2000) 59 (high)
HDI (2011) Increase 0.486 (low) (148th)
Currency Kwanza (AOA)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code +244
ISO 3166 code AO
Internet TLD .ao