Algeria, officially the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, also formally referred to as the Democratic and Popular Algerian Republic, is a country in the Maghreb region of Africa. Its capital (and most populous city) is Algiers.

The territory of today’s Algeria was the home of many ancient cultures, including Aterian and Capsian cultures. Its area have been ruled by many empires and dynasties, including ancient Numidians, Carthaginians, Romans, Vandals, Byzantines, Arab Umayyads and Fatimids, and Berber Almohads and later Turkish Ottomans.

Algeria Country Information:

Capital (and largest city) Algiers 36°42′N 3°13′E
Official languages Arabic
Other languages Berber (national)
French (lingua franca)
Ethnic groups 80% Arab , 20% Berbers/Europeans
Demonym Algerian
Government Presidential republic
– President Abdelaziz Bouteflika
– Prime Minister Abdelmalek Sellal
Legislature Parliament
– Upper house Council of the Nation
– Lower house People’s National Assembly
Independence from France
– Recognized 3 July 1962
– Declared 5 July 1962
– Total 2,381,741 km2 (10th)
919,595 sq mi
– Water (%) negligible
– 2012 estimate 37,100,000
– 2008 census 34,080,030
– Density 14.6/km2 (204th)
37.9/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $263.661 billion (47th)
– Per capita $7,333 (100th)
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $190.709 billion (49th)
– Per capita $5,304 (93rd)
Gini (1995) 35.3 (medium)
HDI (2011) Increase 0.698 (medium) (96th)
Currency Algerian dinar (DZD)
Time zone CET (UTC+01)
Drives on the right
Calling code 213
ISO 3166 code DZ
Internet TLD .dz